Finance and Administration

Employee Engagement. Customer Service. Responsible Stewardship.


The Betty Hardin Award for Excellence

The Betty Hardin Award for Excellence in Finance and Administration is presented each year to deserving active, regular full-time employees of the Finance and Administration Division of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Eligible employees may be nominated by any interested party. An awards committee, appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration, will review nominations and forward the names of at least two and up to three individuals and/or one work team to receive the award. A work team is the same as one individual. The initial award amount is $500 and future awards are dependent on available funding from the Betty Hardin Award for Excellence in Finance and Administration or current gifts. The Vice Chancellor has discretion to make the award to one employee, multiple employees, or a team of employees who exemplify excellence in service according to the criteria listed below. The awards will be presented at the Finance and Administration Service Pins awards ceremony on or about the month of May each year beginning 2008.

About Betty Hardin

Betty Brower Hardin (’80) was born in Randolph County, North Carolina, on February 10, 1948 to the late Alfred Moore and Virginia Parks Brower. She was a member of Rehobeth United Methodist Church in Ramseur, North Carolina, and attended Asbury United Methodist Church in Greensboro. Betty was a certified public accountant, a graduate of Lees-McRae College and UNCG. She was a 16-year employee of UNCG, working in the Division of Finance and Administration and serving as Director of Advancement Services, and was known for her rock-solid dependability. In 1994, Betty was honored with the Gladys Strawn Bullard Award for outstanding leadership and service to UNCG. Betty was a quiet woman who enjoyed the simple things in life and was always more concerned about others than herself. She died tragically on the morning of March 23, 2005 in an automobile accident on her way to work.

Betty Hardin

Consideration Criteria

  • ❖ Superior Leadership to the Division of Finance and Administration
  • ❖ Spirit of Excellence
  • ❖ Demonstrated Commitment to the Principles of Work
  • ❖ Rendering of Service to the University Community Above and Beyond the Call of Duty

Required Qualifications

  • ❖ Must be an active, regular full-time employee of the Finance and Administration Division with a minimum of two (2) years service in the division.
  • ❖ Must be in good standing with the University and have not received a written disciplinary action (excluding Letters of Counsel) within the past 24 months.

Qualified Departments

  • ❖ Campus Enterprises
  • ❖ Emergency Management
  • ❖ Facilities
  • ❖ Finance
  • ❖ Foundation Finance
  • ❖ Risk Management
  • ❖ Human Resources
  • ❖ Performance Management
  • ❖ Police

Previous Recipients

  • 2019 - Jorge Quintal
  • 2018 - Steve Dedona, Scott Milman
  • 2017 - Steve Honeycutt
  • 2016 - Robert Walker
  • 2015 - Judy Lillis
  • 2014 - Tom White
  • 2013 - Chris Fay
  • 2012 - Ada Baldwin
  • 2011 - Wayne Jones
  • 2010 - Sandra Redmond
  • 2009 - Paul Lester
  • 2008 - Ralice Gertz

Nomination Form

Ready to nominate a collegue for this prestegious award? Fill out the nomination form via the button link below!